heart adrift (January 2006)

14 May

I felt our ties break
I had the scissors in my hand
at the time

and so very quickly I wanted to
retie the knots
and still the wind

afraid of where it would take you
away from me
afraid that when I came adrift

no wind would cast me
no direction choose me
left only to sinking

depths and colours unappreciated
yes, in that instant
I held my breath

I lose and I find
a drifting soul
flying high and

with no will to change
what hope will come
from this – my heart adrift

Leave a Reply

