Up (Oct 2010)

18 Nov

    this mountain
I am climbing

like generations of trees
  within a forest
that climbed a ridge
slower that I

three hundred years covered
  in one step

though I imagine there’s more ease –
the effortlessness of dropping
a seed
the effort of dropping my backpack

an equal readiness I am sure

and I imagine as the sun
seeks the seed

a great movement must rise

  an immersion, dank earth
  a potential, leaf litter
  an arrival, spring rains

and the yank of light lifts us up

Leave a Reply

