trembles (04 Mar 2011)

14 Mar

I’ve grown accustomed
to my cabin moving
under the weight of massive freight

rolling through at night
like approaching cloud banks of sound
thick and ready to drop a monsoon

lead weight at my feet.
These night noises
are tunneled, they trap

themselves in a vein
of concrete entrenched into
my two hills, pukerua

and as the volume and mass
extricates itself
from that belly,

the sound explodes
like a broken damn
down into my valley ear.

The vibrations are swollen
and rouse me
like the earth

absorbing all that static.
Into its own wave
I feel my cells reach out and

disappear.

Leave a Reply

