I need a muse (26 March 2011)

27 Mar

I need a muse like I need God
I need to colour my life
with carrier pigeons

and love letters
written behind closed doors
on the floor at night

#

I need the footsteps
of my life to sound out
into your world
and know the glorious echoes

are heard – tell me – can you contain
me in the quiet chamber of your heart?
Will you call upon me
as the beginning sound of creation?

If you hold this for me
I will call you.

You are so rare

#

Meet me
Meet me now
See how ruffled I am
  without you

Stop dropping me off
at the doorstep

Take me inside

#

A muse is such a gift
if you were to leave…
if you were to leave…
you’d awaken in me

the yearning that’s inside all of us

#

These things come undone
in their own time and way
You’re the poetry
Graffiti on the moon

I hang to the mid-air

and I point to you and I point to you
and then one day
I point that yearning towards
stillness

I point that yearning towards
Stillness

#

I need a muse like I need God

This yearning is so precious.

#

29 Responses to “I need a muse (26 March 2011)”

  1. haggishead March 28, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    and I need poems like this one… great job!

    • squashedmosquito March 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      Thanks. I enjoyed reading your latest blog entry too.

  2. Jingle March 28, 2011 at 2:56 am #

    we all need muses the way we need God,
    very fine tuned words.
    welcome and have fun..

    🙂

    • squashedmosquito March 28, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

      Thanks. I think I’m getting a handle on how this works… And thanks Jingle for your continual encouraging words. You’re an inspiration too!!

  3. A.B. Thomas March 28, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    A nicely presented piece of want, loved the flow

  4. Mihir Vatsa March 28, 2011 at 6:11 am #

    Hmmm… Quite true, it is. Loved the first starting lines the most.

    • squashedmosquito March 28, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      yeah, the first lines wrote itself… you know how it is 🙂

  5. Vinay March 28, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    keep searching, for the muse is nearby.. without her presence, your words wouldn’t come out so nice 🙂 happy Rally!

    Here’s My Poem For Poets Rally

    • squashedmosquito March 28, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      Thanks Vinay. I heard recently that I should actually refer to my ‘muse’ as a ‘daemon’. A muse (which is a feminine energy) is the inspiration for the male. Given that I’m female, my inspiration then comes from the balancing masculine energy of the “daemon” (which as we can see from the word, has been *demonized*). Perhaps it wasn’t thought “safe” for women in society to be inspired. Didn’t think the poem would carry the same sentiment if I titled it “I need a daemon” :-p xx

  6. Julie Laing March 28, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Thanks for sharing this one for the rally! I love the use of “ruffled” later in the piece after you brought in the image of carrier pigeons; nicely done.

    • squashedmosquito March 28, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

      Thanks Julie, great feedback. I just checked out your blog and signed up for the RSS feeds. I like what you’re up to 🙂

  7. Alcina March 28, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Beautiful..The way you gave reasons for why you need the muse..it(muse) was completed yet not complete 🙂

    • squashedmosquito March 29, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      Thanks Alcina.

  8. belladonna23 March 29, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    i loved this one, great way to force the structure into the meanings and wonderfully expressed ideas! so creative and abstract!

    • squashedmosquito March 29, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      Thanks! I look forward to reading more of your poems and comments!

  9. KRM March 29, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    I need YOUR muse! I love how the mix of abstract and form pulled me through the poem.

    • squashedmosquito March 29, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      wow thanks KRM. I confess I’m not articulate with poetry ‘forms’ so any feedback of that nature is gratefully received. Well done on your blog. xx

  10. lunawitch15 March 30, 2011 at 3:10 am #

    May I please put your poem on my facebook group page?
    I would really like to share this…

    🙂

    Luna

    • squashedmosquito March 30, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      Thanks Luna for asking. I’d be honored. Much love. Xx

  11. blackglassmoon March 30, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    loved. graffiti on the wall.

    • squashedmosquito March 30, 2011 at 9:41 am #

      Thanks. My fav line too. X

  12. The Fool March 30, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Beautiful lins bringing out the poet’s craving for a muse.

  13. Meghna April 1, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    I guess the muse needs a guide / god father as much as the guide / god father needs a muse….its a symbiotic relationship….

    • squashedmosquito April 4, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      Yes. Symbiotic and *also* one and the same. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  14. kshawnedgar April 1, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    #? You are the muse.

  15. Pat Cegan August 23, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    I point that yearning towards
    Stillness

    Yes, indeed. It is in stillness that we connect with our muse, our creativity, our Creator. Nice to meet you and read your poetry. hugs, pat

    My entry: http://patcegan.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/i-am-my-choices/

    • squashedmosquito August 23, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      Beautiful thanks Pat. I love your post, was a pleasure to read and connect with (y)our creativity 🙂

  16. tigercity August 23, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    this is one of those poems which draw you in.. there’s an energy to it.. the muse pops by occasionally and the world stops while you pour out the words..

    • squashedmosquito August 24, 2012 at 11:43 am #

      yeah, beautifully said tigercity! beautifully said!

Leave a Reply

