Unreasonable sadness (28 March 2011)

11 Apr

I wake up and thank the window
for my dusky view

I wash – tenderly – the milk jug
that pours creamy soy into my tea

I offer a smile and prayer
to the birds stealing my attention

I bathe supine in the sun
at the open window

I breathe deep the fresh air
I watch the butterfly dance

I taste the sweet homemade cakes
and muffins delivered to my door

I say aloud
I am so well cared for.

And in all these moments
I am crying.

There is an unreasonable sadness
an unwarranted grief, an unknown despair

here and even the pink flower
wilts.

3 Responses to “Unreasonable sadness (28 March 2011)”

  1. Billy April 14, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Beautifully written Aly

    • squashedmosquito April 15, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      Thanks Billy. xx

  2. Anna April 22, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Your latest poem, so beautiful and sensual. Can totally feel where you are at, your words paint a raw but beautiful reality. Much love to you! xx

Leave a Reply

