shifts (21 April 2011)

22 Apr

I turned up full
of sleeping butterflies
and one took flight
and another
and another
deep in my belly

the birds are flying
in my mind
and they have lost
the vast sonic space to navigate
the vast sonic space to hear
home

the whale that kept me company
can’t come up for air
and her calf
and her calf
lost her milk in a stormy
rocky bay

I am the poles shifting
true north
true south
they don’t exist like they once did
something broke
something spoke

I am the prickling rain clouds
I am the new dark moon
I am the moment before dawn
where rainbows don’t exist
where rainbows don’t exist

Leave a Reply

